1

Untitled walls

#10

Martin Boissard

Artist selected as part of the open call

2272 Rue Matrognard

A fan of skateboarding culture, Martin Boissard has an alternative vision of the environment and street furniture, that are considered as a potential playground. The wandering, the search for new “spots” tirelessly pushes him to discover new spaces, often off the beaten track and this is where his artistic work was born.

The first stage of his pictorial practice consists in the exploration of urban space. These peregrinations are sometimes synonymous with wandering or discoveries and lead him to take many shots. Vandalized or decrepit walls, palisades, lacerated posters or any other flat surface that will echo the flatness of the painter’s canvas. This obsessive work leads him to a real photographic inventory of what he calls the “pictorial accidents” that line the streets he has paced up and down.

These different subjects enable him to approach painting in its diversity by relying on artistic and pictorial currents as diverse as they are varied. Thus, a wall with graffiti erased by a layer of paint that is different from its original color, hence creating a nebulous abstract form, can be seen as a reference to Rothko’s work. A tag erased with a high-pressure washer will leave visible traces on the wall and will be condemned to wander like a ghost of what it used to be, like an Erased de Kooning Drawing by Rauschenberg.

Although figurative, his pictorial work is nonetheless steeped in abstraction, whether expressionist or geometric. He plays on the opposition between these diametrically opposed pictorial currents. This dichotomy is a real sounding board in his work.

His approach also claims and questions the two-dimensionality of the canvas. By accentuating frontality, by deliberately reducing perspective to a minimum, his work does not seek to give the illusion of a three-dimensional space, but rather to play with flatness and its opposite, depth.

Martin Boissard

1

Untitled walls

#10

Martin Boissard

Artiste sélectionné dans le cadre de l’appel à projets

2272 Rue Matrognard

Imprégné par la culture du skateboard, Martin Boissard à une vision alternative de l’environnement et du mobilier urbain, envisagé comme un potentiel terrain de jeu. La déambulation, la recherche de nouveaux « spots » le pousse inlassablement à découvrir de nouveaux espaces, souvent en dehors des sentiers battus et c’est de là qu’est né son travail artistique.

La première étape de sa pratique picturale consiste en l’exploration de l’espace urbain. Parfois synonymes d’errance ou de trouvailles, ces pérégrinations le conduisent à réaliser de nombreuses prises de vue. Murs vandalisés, parois décrépites, palissades de chantier, affiches lacérées où toute autre surface plane qui feront écho à la planéité de la toile du peintre. Ce travail obsessionnel, l’amène à un véritable recensement photographique de ce qu’il appelle les « accidents picturaux » qui jalonnent les rues qu’il a arpenté.

Ces différents sujets lui permettent d’aborder la peinture dans sa diversité en s’appuyant sur des courants artistiques et picturaux aussi divers que variés. Ainsi, un mur présentant un graffiti effacé par une couche de peinture différente de sa couleur originelle, créant alors une forme abstraite nébuleuse, pourra être vu comme une référence au travail de Rothko. Un tag effacé au karcher laissera des traces visibles sur la paroi et sera condamné à errer tel un fantôme de ce qu’il était auparavant, à la manière d’un Erased de Kooning Drawing par Rauschenberg.

Bien que figuratif, son travail pictural est néanmoins imprégné par l’abstraction, qu’elle soit expressionniste ou géométrique. Il joue sur l’opposition entre ces courants picturaux diamétralement opposés. Cette dichotomie étant une véritable caisse de résonance dans son travail.

Sa démarche revendique et interroge également la bidimensionnalité de la toile. En accentuant la frontalité, en réduisant volontairement la perspective à son minimum, son travail n’a pas pour but de donner l’illusion d’un espace tridimensionnel, mais bien plus de jouer avec la planéité et son opposé, la profondeur.

Martin Boissard