1

The Uninvited Guests

#10

Chantal van Rijt

Artist selected as part of the open call

24516 Rue du Palais

On a Monday afternoon, 5th of September 2022 at 16:33 to be exact, a message was delivered by the Council of Infestations of Liege. The message was written in a brief and brusque matter. It mentioned an infestation of an unidentified species somewhere on the premises. The matter wasn’t taken seriously and it was soon forgotten.

 

Up until three weeks later, a humming was to be heard in the city hall, which had gotten to an ominous rhythm. The sound became intolerable as it was interrupting every thought a person had. Finally, the municipality took matters into its own hands and went to investigate where this noise was coming from. They found a newly-formed edifice of a non-human intruder who had taken up residence in the basement of the city hall. Of course, they couldn’t let this pass.

 

As was the normal way of dealing with this, they ordered a judge to prosecute the creatures who were building the tube-like structures. When the animals were located, they appeared to have become dormant in hibernation. The beings didn’t seem to be insects of litter and soil, nor were they sap-sucking creatures. One could only guess at the shape of these soft-fleshed organisms, whilst they were hiding behind their hard-crusted shells.

 

Were they doing any damage? Should they be prosecuted by law? Due to their small size and the fact that they were not yet fully grown, they were appointed to a curator. He obtained for them the use of a vacant windowshop, to which they were permitted peacefully to retire. Furthermore, the curator was instructed to keep an eye out to ensure that the beings stayed in the appointed area. How they were induced to go into this reservation and to remain there, we are not informed.

 

(based on the treatise Bugs and Beasts before the Law, by H.P. Evans)

Chantal van Rijt

1

The Uninvited Guests

#10

Chantal van Rijt

Artiste sélectionnée dans le cadre de l’appel à projets

24516 Rue du Palais

Un lundi après-midi, le 5 septembre 2022 à 16h33 précisément, un message a été délivré par le Conseil des Infestations de Liège. Le message était rédigé d’une manière brève et brusque. Il mentionnait une infestation d’une espèce non identifiée quelque part dans les alentours. L’affaire n’a pas été prise au sérieux et est vite tombée aux oubliettes.

Jusqu’à trois semaines plus tard lorsqu’un bourdonnement au rythme devenu inquiétant s’est fait entendre dans la maison communale. Le son est vite devenu insupportable car il interrompait chaque pensée d’une personne. Finalement, la municipalité a pris les choses en main et est allée enquêter sur l’origine de ce bruit. Ils ont trouvé un édifice fraichement construit par un intrus non humain qui avait élu domicile dans le sous-sol de l’hôtel de ville. Ils ne pouvaient évidemment pas laisser passer cela.

Comme il était de coutume dans ce genre de cas, ils ont ordonné à un juge de poursuivre les créatures qui construisaient ces structures en forme de tube. Lorsque les animaux ont été localisés, ils semblaient être en pleine hibernation. Les bêtes ne ressemblaient pas à des insectes de litière et de sol, ni à des créatures suceuses de sève. On ne pouvait que deviner la forme de ces organismes à chair molle cachés derrière leurs coquilles dures.

Causaient-ils des dégâts ? Devaient-ils être poursuivis par la loi ? En raison de leur petite taille et du fait qu’ils n’étaient pas encore adultes, ils ont été confiés à un commissaire qui leur donna accès à une vitrine vide dans laquelle ils pourraient se retirer paisiblement. De plus, le commissaire a été chargé de garder un oeil sur les créatures pour s’assurer qu’elles restent bien dans la zone délimitée. Nous ne savons rien de la façon dont ils ont été amenés dans cette réserve et à y rester.

Chantal van Rijt