1

What Else

#10

Jonas Locht

Curator : Maxime Moinet

23742 Passage Lemonnier

Three common objects, reflections of our daily life: a coat rack and two Italian coffee makers. I start from these familiar objects and I operate, by molding, a transposition into an innovative material: an ecological water-based resin which has good resistance properties.

I create, during this transposition, an unreal, imaginary form, dragging reality into fantasy. Thus, the coffee maker is deformed, crumpled, and wears as a lid a Coppola cap, a rallying sign of the Italian mafia. The old coffee maker, now out of fashion, is styled in a way that has become “trendy”. Likewise, industry and its technologies are constantly innovating and in turn developing new forms of disguised mafia.

The enlargement of the object further accentuates the fantastic aspect and reduces it to a cancellation of its own functioning to give it a different view. This gigantism immediately confers a caricatural scope and a power of denunciation. This outrageousness diverts the familiar use of the coffee maker and the coat rack towards the grotesque and tries to deconstruct the little rituals that we have made sacred, by which we furnish the void of our life.

The current advertising discourse creates a sort of coffee mythology, calling on different Hollywood stars to represent the supernatural virtues of this drink.

The monumental coat rack parodies the place given to the protective angel during our travels and facing the fears they can cause.

The sculptures combine with each other in a comic atmosphere and merge in the treatment of color. They offer a desacralizing vision in a society where traces of the sacred are still significant and often used for commercial purposes.

Jonas Locht

1

What Else

#10

Jonas Locht

Commissaire : Maxime Moinet

23742 Passage Lemonnier

Trois objets usuels, reflets de la vie quotidienne : un porte-manteau et deux cafetières italiennes. En partant de ces objets familiers, j’opère – par moulage – une transposition dans un matériau innovant : une résine écologique à base d’eau qui possède de bonnes propriétés de résistance.

J’élabore, au cours de cette transposition, une forme irréelle, imaginaire, faisant glisser la réalité dans le fantastique. Ainsi, la cafetière est déformée, froissée, et porte comme couvercle une casquette Coppola, signe de ralliement de la mafia italienne. La vieille cafetière, à présent passée de mode, se coiffe d’une manière devenue « trendy ». De même, l’industrie et ses technologies innovent sans cesse et développent à leur tour des formes de mafia déguisées.

L’agrandissement de l’objet accentue encore l’aspect fantastique et le réduit également à une annulation de son fonctionnement propre afin de le donner à voir autrement. Ce gigantisme confère d’emblée une portée caricaturale et un pouvoir dénonciateur. Cette démesure détourne vers le grotesque l’utilisation familière de la cafetière et du porte-manteau et tente de déconstruire les petits rituels que nous avons sacralisés, par lesquels nous meublons le vide de nos existences.

Le discours publicitaire actuel crée une sorte de mythologie du café, faisant appel à diverses stars hollywoodiennes pour représenter les vertus surnaturels de cette boisson.

Le porte-manteau monumental parodie la place accordée à l’ange protecteur lors de nos déplacements et face aux craintes qu’ils peuvent engendrer.

Les sculptures s’allient entre elles dans le comique et se confondent dans le traitement de la couleur. Elles proposent une vision désacralisante dans une société où les traces du sacré sont encore prégnantes et souvent utilisées à des fins mercantiles.

Jonas Locht