1

Kung Fu du Samouraï

#10

Samuel Cariaux

Curator : Bertrand Léonard

2296 Rue du Palais

There is a sort of discrepancy, a contrast between the eccentric universe of Samuel and the solemn side of his creative approach. Like the samurai, one of the major figures in his pantheon, he applies rigor to his work, meticulousness in the management of his environment. He needs to appropriate his space to the point of making it his sanctuary in the center of which he reigns, imperturbable. However, he welcomes each visitor with a smile, proud of the interest he arouses. He takes real pleasure in presenting his work to him, citing his sources of inspiration, guiding him through this structured and abundant pavilion.

We quickly understand his attraction to the sacred and mythological universe. From Japan, where he travelled twice, he reproduces calligraphy, kimonos, temples, buddhas, dragons, samurai or even geishas. He likes sexy and provocative women, with a rock’n’roll attitude and passion in their kisses. […]

Samuel also expresses this obvious attraction for extravagance, pop culture and his idols in a textile version. He revamps salvaged clothing to his tastes through brief stylistic interventions and above all through the design of his favorite subjects. […] This total commitment has made him one of the figureheads of the Créahm, a singular personality who has not ceased to amaze us.

Gaëtan Lino

1

Kung Fu du Samouraï

#10

Samuel Cariaux

Commissaire : Bertrand Léonard

2296 Rue du Palais

Il y a comme un décalage, un contraste entre l’univers excentrique de Samuel et le côté solennel de sa démarche créatrice. Tel le samouraï, l’une des figures majeures de son panthéon, il applique de la rigueur à son travail, de la minutie dans la gestion de son environnement. Il a besoin de s’approprier son espace au point d’en faire un sanctuaire au centre duquel il trône, imperturbable. Pourtant, il accueille chaque visiteur avec le sourire, fier de l’intérêt qu’il suscite. Il prend un réel plaisir à lui présenter son oeuvre, à citer ses sources d’inspiration, à le guider à travers ce pavillon aussi structuré que foisonnant.

On comprend rapidement son attrait pour le sacré, le mythologique. Du Japon, où il s’est rendu à deux reprises, il reproduit la calligraphie, les kimonos, les temples, les bouddhas, les dragons, les samouraïs ou encore, les geishas. D’ailleurs les femmes, il les aime sexy, provocantes, rock’n’roll dans leur posture, passionnées dans leurs baisers. […]

Cet attrait évident pour l’extravagance, la culture pop et ses idoles, Samuel l’exprime aussi en version textile. Il relooke à son goût des vêtements de récupération par des interventions stylistiques brèves et surtout par le dessin de ses sujets favoris. […] Cet engagement total en a fait l’une des figures de proue du Créahm, une personnalité singulière qui n’a pas fini de nous émerveiller.

Gaëtan Lino