1

Murals 1&2

#10

Louis Randhaxe

Artist selected as part of the open call

2427B Rue des Carmes

Built as part of the Brussels International Exposition of 1935, the pavilion of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg was made up of two separate buildings. While the first one hosted the official part of the exhibition, the second one was designed in three parts that were dedicated to the tasting of Luxembourg drinks. The walls were decorated with bas-reliefs created by Grand Ducal sculptors. The topics discussed gave prominence to the centuries-old practices of the region, to culture and agriculture. The often-tipsy visitors confused the protagonists of the represented life scenes with mystical figures from Luxembourg folklore.

This was the birth of the idea that bas-reliefs, in their evocations of everyday life, are loaded with a mystical power over the collective imagination, an irrational link between the tribe, the pleasure and the most spiritual feelings.

For Art au Centre #10, artist Louis Randaxhe (1998, born and raised in Liège) presents an installation of two bas-reliefs whose subjects and ornamentations, linked to pleasure and popular practices, are directly drawn from this legend. His work is part of a graphic and iconographic research field. He tries his hand at various techniques as an amateur on raw or recycled materials. Particular attention is paid to practices of diversion and domestic appropriation that are similar to DIY practices. The hybridization of motifs, techniques and materials operating at different scales of his work, enables as much back and forth between his referents, his practice of the technique and the decompartmentalization of his vocabulary.

Antonin Corto Cauwe

1

Murals 1&2

#10

Louis Randhaxe

Artiste sélectionné dans le cadre de l’appel à projets

2427B Rue des Carmes

Construit dans le cadre de l’Exposition Universelle de Belgique de 1935, le pavillon du Grand-Duché du Luxembourg était composé de deux bâtiments distincts. Si le premier accueillait la partie officielle de l’exposition, le deuxième fût conçu en trois parties destinées à la dégustation des boissons luxembourgeoises. Les murs y étaient ornés de bas-reliefs de sculpteurs grand-ducaux. Les sujets évoqués faisaient la part belle aux pratiques séculaires de la région, à la culture et à l’agriculture. Les visiteurs, souvent éméchés, confondaient les protagonistes des scènes de vies représentées avec des figures mystiques du folklore luxembourgeois.

De cette époque, naît l’idée que les bas-reliefs, dans leurs évocations de la vie courante, sont chargés de pouvoir mystique sur l’imaginaire collectif. D’un lien irrationnel entre la tribu, plaisir et sentiments les plus spirituels.

Pour Art au Centre #10, l’artiste Louis Randaxhe (1998, né et vit à Liège) présente une installation de deux bas-reliefs dont les sujets et ornementations, liés au plaisir et aux pratiques populaires, sont directement tirées de cette légende. Son travail s’inscrit dans un champ de recherche graphique et iconographique. Il s’essaie à des techniques variées en amateur sur des matériaux bruts ou issus de récupération. Une attention particulière est portée aux pratiques de détournement et d’appropriation domestique semblable à celles issues du DIY. L’hybridation des motifs, techniques et matériaux opérant à différentes échelles de son travail, permet autant d’aller-retour entre ses référents, sa pratique de la technique et le décloisonnement de son vocabulaire.

Antonin Corto Cauwe